Breaking News

BREAKING: Buhari’s Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari, is dead

The Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari, is dead.
Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, confirmed this in a press statement.

Adesina said the Chief of Staff to Nigeria’s President, Major General Muhammadu (retd.), died on Friday.

He said, “The Presidency regrets to announce the passage of the Chief of Staff to the President, Mallam Abba Kyari.

“The deceased had tested positive to the ravaging COVID-19, and had been receiving treatment. But he died on Friday, April 17, 2020.

“Funeral arrangements will be announced shortly.”

Kyari tested positive for the virus after returning from a trip to Germany.

Barely a week after the report, Kyari announced his decision to leave Abuja for Lagos to receive medical treatment in a private facility.
Upon his arrival to Lagos, the State and Federal Governments refused to declare his whereabouts.
The announcement of Kyari’s death came a few hours after the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control stated that no fewer than 11 people have died of coronavirus-related complications in the country.

However, it could not be ascertained if Kyari’s death had been counted as one of the fatalities.

The NCDC also said that the confirmed cases of coronavirus have increased to 493 in Nigeria after 51 new infections were recorded on Friday.

The PUNCH reports that of the total 17 coronavirus-related deaths recorded in Nigeria, 11 patients died in Lagos, two in Abuja, one each in Kano, Edo, Delta, and Katsina.

NCDC said, “Fifty-one new cases of #COVID19 have been reported: 32 in Lagos, six in Kano, five in Kwara, two in FCT, two in Oyo, two in Katsina, one in Ogun, one in Ekiti.

“As of 10:10 pm on the 17th of April, there are 493 confirmed cases of #COVID-19 reported in Nigeria. Discharged: 159; Deaths: 17.

“As of 10:10 pm on the 17th of April, the number of states with confirmed cases of #COVID19: 19 + FCT. Currently, Lagos has 283, FCT- 69, Kano- 27, Osun- 20, Edo- 15, Oyo- 15, Ogun- 10, Kwara- nine, Katsina – nine, Bauchi – six, Kaduna- six, Akwa Ibom- six, Delta- four, Ondo- three, Ekiti- three, Enugu- two, Rivers- two, Niger – two, Benue- one, and Anambra- one.”

The NCDC also said that no fewer than 7153 samples have been tested for #COVID-19 in the country.

Source: punch

No comments